top of page

DSD athletes shine at the Belfast Outdoor Intervarsities

A total of seventeen DSD athletes competed in the 2024 Outdoor Track and Field Varsities which took place in Belfast last weekend and they returned with a handful of medals after a busy programme of track and field events. Individual medallists included Eimear Maher (2nd in the 1,500 with a time of 4:35:40), Ciara Wilson Bowen (2nd in the 1,500 walk with a time of 7:14) and Morgan Clarkson (3rd in the 3,000 Steeplechase with a time of 10:03:50). Relay medals were won by Eimear Maher (part of the winning UCC team in the mixed relay), Molly Hourihan (part of two winning UCD teams in the 4x100 and 4x400 plus part of their 4x400 mixed relay team which finished second), Charlotte Bourke (in the third placed TCD 4x400 team) and Gregor McCullagh Travers (part of the UCD mixed 4x400 relays team which finished second). Overall, DCU won the team trophy in addition to winning the Middle Distance and Throws trophies, UCD won the sprints trophy for the first time in 20 years and UL won the Jumps trophy. Emma Roche competed in the 200m and in the 4 x 100 relays and Aisling Cunningham competed in the 400. Molly Hourihan finished fifth in the 400m final while Charlotte Bourke also competed in the TCD 4 x 100 team which finished fourth. Ben Hauer set a new record for Maynooth University in the 200m, while James Holden also competed in the 200m. Godwin Mathias qualified for the final in the 400m while also competing in the 4x100 and 4x400 relays for TUD while Scott Dunne also competed in the 400 and both 100 and 400 relays. Ciaran Carthy won his heat in the 400m but was unable to compete in the final while David Doyle also reached the final in the 400. Eanna O'Bradaigh made the final in the 5,000m and Oscar Lubliner also competed in the 10,000 Final. Jack Moraghan represented UCD in the heat-winning 4 x 400 team. A great turnout and some strong performances by many of our athletes at the first outdoor track meet of the season - well done to all who competed and also to those who traveled to support our athletes.
Fintan Hourihan

bottom of page