top of page

Fun in the Mud!

The weather wasn’t kind to us but that didn’t dampen the spirits at the inaugural DSD school cross country race.

The heavy rain made for some tricky underfoot condition, however inspite of the conditions there was some great, and at times eventful racing. The event was held on the old golf course in Marlay park. The tree lined course was undulating and challenging but was a big hit with the athletes who enjoyed the variety in the 1K loop.

The interest in the event amongst the local schools was fantastic with big fields across all of the races. There were so many 1st year girls that we had to split them into 2 races !

There were 7 races on the card with the top 3 individuals and teams in each race as follows:

1st year girls race 1: Ava Clarke, Loretto Foxrock; Sophie Lawrence, St Andrews; Felicity Ryan, Wesley College

1st year girls race 2: Aoibhinn Ni Ghallchoir, Colaiste Isoagain; Holly Ni Neill, , Colaiste Isoagain; Aoife Fitzpatrick, Mount Anville

(Combined teams: St Andrews 1st, Loretto Foxrock 2nd, Mount Anville 3rd)

1st year Boys: Mathew O’Donnell, Willow Park; Torin Cunningham, Wesley College; Fionn Crinion, Colaiste Eoin

(Teams Wesley College 1st, Willow Park 2nd, Colaiste Eoin 3rd)

2nd year Girls: Evelyn Kwik, Wesley College; Anna Butler, St Andrews; Isabello Prina Mello, Stepaside ETSS

(Teams Wesley College 1st, Mount Anville 2nd, Alexandra College 3rd)

2nd year Boys: Lucas Ryan, CBC Monkstown; Shane Farrelly, Templeogue College; Darragh Mc Phillips, Templeogue College

(Teams CBC Monkstown 1st, Wesley College 2nd, Templeogue College 3rd)

3rd/4th Year Girls: Holly O’Brien St Andrews; Olivia Tobin, Mount Anville; Natasha A. Kwantreng St Andrews

(Teams ST Andrews 1st, Alexandra College 2nd, Mount Anville 3rd)

3rd/4th Year Boys: Liam Cox Wesley College; Charlie White Blackrock College; Cillian O Muiri, Colaiste Eoin

( Teams; Blackrock College 1st, Wesley College 2nd, Colaiste Eoin 3rd)

Pictures of the event can also be accessed:

An event of this scale doesn’t happen by itself so the Club would like to thank the army of volunteers who helped make the event a great success and particularly to the organising team of:

Dave Taylor, Meghan Ryan, Brian O’Donoghue, Declan O’Brien, Cynthia O’Neill, Robert Corbally, David Gormley, Donal Hennigan.

We would also like to thank our event sponsors: BallyCullen Medical Centre, Roughan & O’Donovan Consulting Engineers , Joma Sportswear. Without whom we could not have run the event.

Report by: Donal Hennigan

162 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page